Skip to the story
All stories

Jose Chajon-Raxon died after ICE custody seizure, DHS cites policy change

US immigration officials did not disclose the Guatemalan man's death, citing a policy shift rescinding 30-day reporting requirements

AI-assisted coverage comparison, editor-supervised · How this was made

Published Updated
Law enforcement officers kettle protesters outside Delaney Hall detention center Sunday, May 31, 2026, in Newark, N.J. (AP Photo/Adam Gray, File)

What this story says

  • Jose Chajon-Raxon, a Guatemalan man, had a seizure on 19 July 2026 at Delaney Hall, a privately run ICE detention centre in Newark, New Jersey.
  • DHS stated Chajon-Raxon was taken to a hospital and released from ICE custody on 22 July. The department said it was not notified of his death and did not disclose it.
  • A policy change earlier in 2026 rescinded a 2021 requirement to report deaths within 30 days of release from ICE custody. DHS called the change 'common sense'.
  • No right-rated outlet carried the story, according to the reports below.

Who covered it

Left 44%(10)Centre 39%(9)Right 17%(4)

Percentages are shares of the 23 outlets carrying a published leaning rating. 10 of the 33 outlets we know ran this story carry no rating and are not counted in them. Coverage measured .

Trust

70/100

Craft

65/100

Hype

15/100

33 sources · methodology

Missing from the right

Only 4 of the 23 outlets with a published leaning rating that ran this story are rated right.

A reader who follows the right would not have seen this. We report the absence rather than explain it: outlets choose what to cover for many reasons, and we have no evidence about which one applies here.

Jose Chajon-Raxon, a Guatemalan man, had a seizure on 19 July 2026 at Delaney Hall, a privately run immigration detention centre in Newark, New Jersey. The Department of Homeland Security said in a statement that Chajon-Raxon was processed into the facility the day before. DHS stated he was taken to a hospital and released from ICE custody on 22 July.

DHS did not disclose Chajon-Raxon’s death. The department said it was not notified that he died after being sent to the hospital. A policy change announced earlier in 2026 ended a 2021 requirement to report deaths within 30 days of release from ICE custody. DHS called the change 'common sense' in its statement.

US Representative Rob Menendez, a New Jersey Democrat, said the policy change creates a 'loophole' allowing ICE to avoid accountability. Menendez disclosed Chajon-Raxon’s death last week, after the death of another detainee at Delaney Hall in early August. Menendez said ICE granted that detainee a 'discretionary release' after they lost consciousness in hospital.

What the coverage left out

No right-rated outlet ran the story, according to the reports below. None of the digests or reports stated when Jose Chajon-Raxon died.

Coverage settled. We checked this 22 times and stopped on 19 Aug 2026, 07:30. The figures above are what it finished at.

How each side covered it

Our own reading of the reporting listed below, written from the outlets’ articles rather than quoted from them. The reasoning is set out on our methodology page.

Left

10 rated outlets

  • The six left-rated digests below led on the DHS policy change and its effect on transparency. All six carried the statement from Representative Rob Menendez calling the change a 'loophole' that allows ICE to avoid accountability. The Associated Press and Washington Top News, whose full reports are printed below, quoted Menendez’s description of the policy as consistent with 'the entire ethos of the Trump Administration'.
  • The left-rated digests also carried the detail that Chajon-Raxon had a seizure one day after being processed into Delaney Hall. The Associated Press and Washington Top News reported that protests and a hunger strike had taken place at the facility in recent months, citing the immigrant advocacy group Cosecha.

Centre

9 rated outlets

  • The six centre-rated digests below led on the DHS statement that the department was not notified of Chajon-Raxon’s death. All six carried the department’s description of the policy change as 'common sense'. None of the centre-rated digests mentioned Representative Rob Menendez’s statement or the protests at Delaney Hall.
  • The centre-rated digests carried the date Chajon-Raxon was released from ICE custody, 22 July, and the date of his seizure, 19 July. Washington Top News, whose full report is printed below, reported that DHS did not say when Chajon-Raxon died or whether he was released from the hospital before his death.

Right

4 rated outlets

  • All four right-rated outlets reported that José Chajon-Raxon, a Guatemalan immigrant, died after a medical emergency in ICE custody at Delaney Hall in Newark, New Jersey. The accounts agree he was arrested on 18 July 2026 and that a nurse observed seizure-like activity the following day.
  • Three of the digests led on the death as the third at the same facility. Just the News and [your]NEWS named the two previous deaths; Anadolu Ajansı and voz.us did not. voz.us alone linked the incident to policies under former President Donald Trump, attributing the report to his administration.
  • None of the digests mentioned a policy change by the Department of Homeland Security. None quoted Chajon-Raxon’s family, immigration advocates, or medical staff beyond the nurse’s observation.

Questions about this coverage

How did the left and right cover Jose Chajon-Raxon died after ICE custody seizure, DHS cites policy…?
Of the 23 outlets on this story carrying a published leaning rating, 44% are rated left, 39% are rated centre, 17% are rated right. Those percentages are shares of the rated outlets, not of every outlet that ran it, which was 33. The sections above set out what each side emphasised, in its own terms.
Is Jose Chajon-Raxon died after ICE custody seizure, DHS cites policy… left or right?
Neither side dominates it. Of the 23 rated outlets on this story, 44% are rated left, 39% are rated centre, 17% are rated right, and no side holds the 70% this site would want before calling a field one-sided. A story is not left or right in any case; the outlets that carried it are what carry ratings.
Is the coverage of Jose Chajon-Raxon died after ICE custody seizure, DHS cites policy… biased?
Jose Chajon-Raxon died after ICE custody seizure, DHS cites policy change is one event reported by 33 outlets, and this page does not rate the story as biased or unbiased. What it publishes is the spread: which outlets ran it, where named rating organisations place each of them on the spectrum, and what each side chose to lead with. A leaning rating describes an outlet's record over time, not this article, and the two should not be run together.
Which side is not reporting Jose Chajon-Raxon died after ICE custody seizure, DHS cites policy…?
When we first saw this story, outlets rated right had barely covered it. Coverage accretes for hours after an event, so that is where to look rather than a verdict — the split above is the current count, and it is the one to read.
Which outlets covered Jose Chajon-Raxon died after ICE custody seizure, DHS cites policy…?
33 that we know of, every one of them listed further up this page with a link to its own report and to what we hold on the publisher. Nothing here is a summary of somebody else's summary: the outlets are named so the original reporting can be read.
What happened to Jose Chajon-Raxon?
Jose Chajon-Raxon, a Guatemalan man, had a seizure on 19 July 2026 at Delaney Hall, a New Jersey ICE detention centre. DHS said he was taken to a hospital and released from ICE custody on 22 July. The department stated it was not notified of his death and did not disclose it.
Why did DHS not disclose Chajon-Raxon’s death?
DHS said it was not notified that Chajon-Raxon died after being sent to the hospital. A policy change earlier in 2026 ended a 2021 requirement to report deaths within 30 days of release from ICE custody. DHS called the change 'common sense' in its statement.
Which outlets reported on the policy change?
Twelve outlets carried the story, all rated left or centre. The left-rated digests led on the policy change and its effect on transparency. The centre-rated digests led on the DHS statement that it was not notified of the death. No right-rated outlet ran the story.

Read it at the source

33 outlets, grouped by the leaning a published rating gives them. Every headline links to the original; an underlined outlet name opens our profile of that publisher.

Left

10
Show 2 more

Centre

9
Show 1 more

Right

4

Not rated

10
Show 2 more

How did this read?

About the coverage, not about the story. We do not ask whether you agree with what happened — we have no honest use for that answer.

Jose Chajon-Raxon dies after seizure in ICE custody | MediaBias News