Skip to the story
All stories

Houthi missile and drone attacks hit Mokha port and Saudi Aramco refinery

Seven confirmed dead in Yemen as rebels claim strikes on military and energy targets amid rising tensions in the Red Sea corridor

AI-assisted coverage comparison, editor-supervised · How this was made

Published Updated
Houthi missile and drone attacks hit Mokha port and Saudi Aramco refinery

What this story says

  • Houthi rebels claimed responsibility for missile and drone strikes on Yemen’s Mokha port and a Saudi Aramco refinery on 9 August 2026.
  • Seven people were confirmed dead in Mokha, with reports of up to eleven fatalities, including civilians and government forces.
  • The attacks targeted military sites, residential areas, and energy infrastructure, raising concerns over Red Sea shipping security.
  • Saudi Arabia and Yemen’s internationally recognised government reported damage to port facilities and a refinery fire, later extinguished.

Who covered it

Left 32%(42)Centre 37%(48)Right 31%(41)

Percentages are shares of the 131 outlets carrying a published leaning rating. 66 of the 197 outlets we know ran this story carry no rating and are not counted in them. Coverage measured .

Trust

74/100

Craft

95/100

Hype

28/100

197 sources · methodology

Houthi rebels carried out missile and drone attacks on Yemen’s Mokha port and a Saudi Aramco refinery on 9 August 2026. The strikes targeted military installations, residential areas, and energy infrastructure near the Bab el-Mandeb strait, a critical shipping corridor. The National Resistance Forces, affiliated with Yemen’s internationally recognised government, reported seven deaths and 35 injuries in Mokha. A medical source cited by Protothema put the death toll at eleven, including three civilians and eight government forces.

The Houthis claimed the attacks in a statement on X, describing them as a response to Saudi military operations in northwest Yemen. They said the strikes hit Saudi troops and weapons depots in Mokha, as well as the Aramco refinery in Jizan, Saudi Arabia. Saudi Arabia’s Energy Ministry confirmed a fire at the refinery but said no injuries occurred and the blaze was later contained. The port of Mokha, controlled by Yemen’s government, sustained damage to buildings and food supplies, according to the National Resistance Forces.

The attacks followed the signing of a military alliance agreement between Turkey, Pakistan, and Saudi Arabia, which the Houthis cited as a provocation. The strikes deepened concerns over regional stability, particularly for shipping routes in the Red Sea, where tensions have risen since the closure of the Strait of Hormuz diverted oil traffic.

Disagreement over the death toll

Reports diverged on the number of fatalities. The National Resistance Forces said seven people were killed in Mokha, including four soldiers and three civilians. Protothema, citing a medical source, reported eleven dead, with eight identified as government forces. Agi.it and other outlets noted conflicting figures, with some sources claiming up to fourteen deaths, including ten civilians. The discrepancy remains unresolved.

What the coverage left out

None of the right-rated digests mentioned the Houthis’ claim that the attacks were a response to the military alliance between Turkey, Pakistan, and Saudi Arabia. The centre-rated digests also omitted this detail. Only Il Fatto Quotidiano’s full report and espreso.tv’s digest, both unrated, included it. Additionally, none of the digests from the right or centre reported the Saudi Energy Ministry’s statement that no injuries occurred at the Aramco refinery.

Coverage settled. We checked this 9 times and stopped on 15 Aug 2026, 06:15. The figures above are what it finished at.

How each side covered it

Our own reading of the reporting listed below, written from the outlets’ articles rather than quoted from them. The reasoning is set out on our methodology page.

Left

42 rated outlets

  • Left-rated outlets reported that Houthi forces launched missile and drone strikes on Mokha port in Yemen and a Saudi Aramco refinery in Jizan, Saudi Arabia, on 9 August 2026. Seven deaths and 35 injuries were confirmed in the attacks on Mokha. The Houthis claimed responsibility for both strikes, describing them as retaliation for Saudi actions in Yemen.
  • Il Fatto Quotidiano and Al Jazeera led with the civilian casualties in Mokha, including residential areas hit. The Hindu and CNBC focused on the Aramco refinery fire, noting Saudi authorities confirmed no injuries there but did not disclose the cause. Cumhuriyet and Haaretz included the Houthis’ claim of targeting military sites, while Le Monde linked the attacks to broader regional tensions.
  • The two full reports available, Il Fatto Quotidiano and The Hindu, quoted Houthi statements directly. Il Fatto Quotidiano called the group a “Shia militia backed by Iran” and described the port as “controlled by the internationally recognised Yemeni government.” The Hindu referred to the Houthis as “rebels” and included Saudi Arabia’s denial of a Houthi naval blockade claim.
  • None of the digests mentioned the number of drones or missiles used, nor the specific military targets cited by the Houthis. The cost of damage or the operational status of the refinery after the fire was not reported by any of the left-rated outlets in the sample.

Centre

48 rated outlets

  • The two centre-rated digests focused on the strategic implications of the attacks. The Columbian’s digest described the strikes as deepening "fears over threats to strategic Middle East shipping routes" and noted the Houthis’ claim of attacking an oil facility in Saudi Arabia. EFE’s digest led with the civilian death toll, reporting "at least seven civilians killed" and framing the Houthis as "backed by Iran". Neither digest mentioned the military alliance between Turkey, Pakistan, and Saudi Arabia.

Right

41 rated outlets

  • The six right-rated digests prioritised the military and geopolitical dimensions of the attacks. NOS and La Tercera both reported seven deaths, with NOS specifying that four were soldiers and three civilians. Protothema’s digest cited a medical source’s higher toll of eleven dead, including eight government forces, and noted 32 wounded. India Today’s digest linked the strikes to Iran’s stance on the Strait of Hormuz, describing the attacks as part of a regional "flare-up" complicating shipping and diplomacy.
  • Al Bawaba and Anadolu Ajansı’s digests emphasised the Houthis’ targeting of residential areas. Al Bawaba reported seven deaths and 35 injuries, while Anadolu Ajansı cited government sources saying missiles hit neighbourhoods near Mokha. Neither digest mentioned the Saudi Aramco refinery fire or the military alliance provoking the attacks.

Questions about this coverage

How did the left and right cover Houthi missile and drone attacks hit Mokha port and Saudi Aramco…?
Of the 131 outlets on this story carrying a published leaning rating, 32% are rated left, 37% are rated centre, 31% are rated right. Those percentages are shares of the rated outlets, not of every outlet that ran it, which was 197. The sections above set out what each side emphasised, in its own terms.
Is Houthi missile and drone attacks hit Mokha port and Saudi Aramco… left or right?
Neither side dominates it. Of the 131 rated outlets on this story, 32% are rated left, 37% are rated centre, 31% are rated right, and no side holds the 70% this site would want before calling a field one-sided. A story is not left or right in any case; the outlets that carried it are what carry ratings.
Is the coverage of Houthi missile and drone attacks hit Mokha port and Saudi Aramco… biased?
Houthi missile and drone attacks hit Mokha port and Saudi Aramco refinery is one event reported by 197 outlets, and this page does not rate the story as biased or unbiased. What it publishes is the spread: which outlets ran it, where named rating organisations place each of them on the spectrum, and what each side chose to lead with. A leaning rating describes an outlet's record over time, not this article, and the two should not be run together.
Which outlets covered Houthi missile and drone attacks hit Mokha port and Saudi Aramco…?
197 that we know of, every one of them listed further up this page with a link to its own report and to what we hold on the publisher. Nothing here is a summary of somebody else's summary: the outlets are named so the original reporting can be read.
How many people were killed in the Houthi attacks?
Reports disagree on the death toll. The National Resistance Forces confirmed seven deaths in Mokha, including four soldiers and three civilians. A medical source cited by Protothema reported eleven dead, with eight identified as government forces. Other outlets noted figures as high as fourteen, but the discrepancy remains unresolved.
What targets did the Houthis strike?
The Houthis claimed responsibility for attacks on Yemen’s Mokha port and a Saudi Aramco refinery in Jizan, Saudi Arabia. The strikes targeted military installations, residential areas, and energy infrastructure, causing damage to port facilities and a fire at the refinery, which Saudi authorities later extinguished.
Why did the Houthis carry out the attacks?
The Houthis said the strikes were retaliation for Saudi military operations in northwest Yemen. They also cited the recent signing of a military alliance between Turkey, Pakistan, and Saudi Arabia as a provocation. The attacks escalated tensions in the Red Sea corridor, a critical shipping route.

Read it at the source

202 outlets, grouped by the leaning a published rating gives them. Every headline links to the original; an underlined outlet name opens our profile of that publisher.

Left

42
Show 34 more

Centre

49
Show 41 more

Right

44
Show 36 more

Not rated

67
Show 59 more

How did this read?

About the coverage, not about the story. We do not ask whether you agree with what happened — we have no honest use for that answer.

Houthi attacks on Mokha port and Saudi Aramco refinery kill seven | MediaBias News