US Supreme Court declines to block $656m judgment against Palestinian authorities
Justice Sonia Sotomayor refused to halt damages awarded to Americans over attacks in Israel from 2002 to 2004
AI-assisted coverage comparison, editor-supervised · How this was made
US Supreme Court declines to block $656m judgment against Palestinian authorities
Photograph: WTVB (embedded from source)
What this story says
- US Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor declined to halt a $655.5m judgment against Palestinian authorities over attacks in Israel from 2002 to 2004.
- The lawsuit was filed by Americans killed or injured in the attacks, with damages awarded in a US civil court.
- The defendants include the Palestine Liberation Organisation and the Palestinian Authority, as reported by Reuters and the Associated Press.
- The judgment remains enforceable after the Supreme Court’s decision on 3 August 2026.
On 3 August 2026, US Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor refused to block a $655.5m judgment against Palestinian authorities. The damages were awarded in a US civil lawsuit brought by Americans affected by attacks in Israel between 2002 and 2004. The defendants named in the case include the Palestine Liberation Organisation (PLO) and the Palestinian Authority.
The attacks, which occurred over two years, resulted in deaths and injuries among US citizens. The judgment was issued by a lower court and upheld through appeals. Sotomayor’s decision means the financial penalty remains in effect, though it is unclear whether the plaintiffs will be able to collect the full amount.
Disagreement over the exact figure
The reports diverge on the precise amount of the judgment. Reuters, WTVB and The Straits Times state the figure as $655.5m. Washington Top News and The Seattle Times report it as $656m. The difference appears to stem from rounding in the latter two outlets.
What the coverage left out
None of the five digests mention whether the plaintiffs have attempted to enforce the judgment or what legal steps remain. The Seattle Times digest does not specify the years of the attacks or the exact amount of damages. The Straits Times digest does not name the PLO or Palestinian Authority as defendants.
How each side covered it
Our own reading of the reporting listed below, written from the outlets’ articles rather than quoted from them. The reasoning is set out on our methodology page.
Left
- The Seattle Times digest led on the Supreme Court’s refusal to halt the judgment and named the defendants as the PLO and Palestinian Authority. It did not specify the exact amount of damages or the years of the attacks.
Centre
- The three centre-rated digests, Reuters, WTVB and Washington Top News, all named the $655.5m or $656m figure and specified the years of the attacks as 2002 to 2004. Reuters and WTVB identified the defendants as Palestinian authorities, while Washington Top News named the PLO and Palestinian Authority. None of the three digests mentioned the plaintiffs’ nationalities or the enforceability of the judgment.
Right
- The Straits Times digest reported the $655.5m figure and the years of the attacks, 2002 to 2004. It identified the defendants as Palestinian authorities and noted that the attacks killed and injured Americans. It did not name the PLO or Palestinian Authority explicitly.
Questions about this coverage
- Is the coverage of US Supreme Court declines to block $656m judgment against Palestinian… biased?
- US Supreme Court declines to block $656m judgment against Palestinian authorities is one event reported by several outlets, and this page does not rate the story as biased or unbiased. What it publishes is the spread: which outlets ran it, where named rating organisations place each of them on the spectrum, and what each side chose to lead with. A leaning rating describes an outlet's record over time, not this article, and the two should not be run together.
- What was the judgment against Palestinian authorities for?
- The $655.5m judgment was awarded to Americans killed or injured in attacks in Israel between 2002 and 2004. The lawsuit targeted the Palestine Liberation Organisation and the Palestinian Authority, as reported by Reuters and the Associated Press.
- Can the plaintiffs collect the $655.5m judgment?
- The Supreme Court’s decision leaves the judgment in place, but it is unclear whether the plaintiffs will be able to enforce it. None of the reports specify whether collection efforts have begun or what legal obstacles remain.
- Why did the Supreme Court refuse to halt the judgment?
- Justice Sonia Sotomayor declined to intervene, meaning the lower court’s ruling stands. The reports do not explain the legal reasoning behind her decision, only that she refused the request to pause the judgment.
Read it at the source
14 outlets, grouped by the leaning a published rating gives them. Every headline links to the original; an underlined outlet name opens our profile of that publisher.
Left
6- Supreme Court won’t halt $656M judgment against the PLO and Palestinian Authority (opens The Seattle Times in a new tab)
The Seattle Times — is The Seattle Times biased? Our profile of this outlet
- Supreme Court won’t halt $656M judgment against the PLO and Palestinian Authority (opens WellandTribune.ca in a new tab)
WellandTribune.ca — is WellandTribune.ca biased? Our profile of this outlet
- Supreme Court won’t halt $656M judgment against the PLO and Palestinian Authority (opens St Catharines Standard in a new tab)
St Catharines Standard — is St Catharines Standard biased? Our profile of this outlet
- Supreme Court won't halt $656M judgment against the PLO and Palestinian Authority (opens Oskaloosa Herald in a new tab)
Oskaloosa Herald — is Oskaloosa Herald biased? Our profile of this outlet
- Supreme Court won't halt $656M judgment against the PLO and Palestinian Authority (opens Bangor Daily News in a new tab)
Bangor Daily News — is Bangor Daily News biased? Our profile of this outlet
- Supreme Court won't halt $656M judgment against the PLO and Palestinian Authority (opens Associated Press News in a new tab)
Associated Press News — is Associated Press News biased? Our profile of this outlet
Centre
5- US Supreme Court won't halt $655 million judgment against Palestinians over attacks (opens Reuters in a new tab)
- US Supreme Court won’t halt $655 million judgment against Palestinians over attacks (opens WTVB in a new tab)
- Supreme Court won’t halt $656M judgment against the PLO and Palestinian Authority (opens Washington Top News in a new tab)
Washington Top News — is Washington Top News biased? Our profile of this outlet
- Supreme Court won't halt $656M judgment against the PLO and Palestinian Authority (opens Winnipeg Free Press in a new tab)
Winnipeg Free Press — is Winnipeg Free Press biased? Our profile of this outlet
- Supreme Court won't halt $656M judgment against the PLO and Palestinian Authority (opens Ottumwa Courier in a new tab)
Ottumwa Courier — is Ottumwa Courier biased? Our profile of this outlet
Right
3- US Supreme Court won't halt $655 million judgment against Palestinians over attacks (opens The Straits Times in a new tab)
The Straits Times — is The Straits Times biased? Our profile of this outlet
- Supreme Court won’t halt $656M judgment against the PLO and Palestinian Authority (opens Washington Times in a new tab)
Washington Times — is Washington Times biased? Our profile of this outlet
- Supreme Court won't halt $656M judgment against the PLO and Palestinian Authority (opens Breitbart in a new tab)
Not rated
0No outlet in this group ran the story.
How did this read?
About the coverage, not about the story. We do not ask whether you agree with what happened — we have no honest use for that answer.
More in Politics
All Politics →Elsewhere on the site
Business & Economy•3 min readSyria raises diesel 40% and petrol up to 28% as protests spread across five provinces
Conflict & Security•2 min readTrump says Iran wants a deal but is not ready